StudentCo Pet Sitter Profile

If you like this profile, remember the name "Jamie H" and simply click here to tell us more about your pets and when you will need a sitter. StudentCo will let you know if this pet sitter is available (if not, you will be introduced to another, equally awesome, team member).

The next step is the meet-and-greet. This is an informal meeting at your home so you (and your pets!) can get to know a potential sitter. You are invited to discuss your needs and expectations openly, and then decide whether you would like to proceed with a booking. The meet-and-greet is 100% cost and obligation-free and will be arranged for a time that suits you.

Want to see some pet sitting pics? Visit our gallery, or have a look at our albums on Facebook.


Name of sitter: Jamie H

Area: Allensnek (Roodepoort)

Note: Jamie happily looks after pets who are not in her immediate area - driving is not a problem.

Course of study: BSC- Biological studies

Approved StudentCo pet sitter since: October 2018

Experience with animals and own pets

I am the current owner of a cat and two dogs. My cat’s name is Smudge. He is a Tabby cat and is 12 years old this year. We raised him from 3 days old, as he was found abandoned under a tree. My dogs are both SPCA rescues. Bella is a mix of Schnauzer and Scotty, and Dobby is a Schnauzer. They have been with us for about 2 years now. I also currently own two Axolotls. These are very rare, as they have been blacklisted due to them being endangered. They are only found in the wild, in Mexican lakes, and are used for research as they are able to regrow their limbs. I adopted Gilly and Toothless from a Professor who could not look after all the newts that were born.

My first dog, Jessica, was a Golden Spaniel, who we adopted at about 12 years old, and who lived to the ripe old age of 17 years old. I have also raised a Squirrel, Wriggles, with my family from when he was a few days old to about 3 months old, before rehabilitating him into the wild.

My family holidays have always consisted of a private game reserves and game viewing. In June 2018, I was lucky enough to get close to a rhino, which had unfortunately been hurt by an elephant, with a group of other members from the reserve and the Wildlife Veterinarian who was trying to save this poor animal’s life.

I have looked after many animals, including fish, dogs, cats, hamsters and hedgehogs for friends, family, and acquaintances. My house also has been a foster home for many dogs at times when their owners could not look after them.

I hope to meet you and your furry companions soon!

Like this profile? Remember the name "Jamie H" and click here!

StudentCo Pet Sitting procedure and veterinary emergency test

Jamie passed our test about proper pet sitting procedure and the recognition of common veterinary emergencies. This means that she scored at least 80%. Please do feel free to ask for any team member’s individual test score.

Feedback from References

Reference 1

Being part of StudentCo means working with animals. In your opinion, would the above person be suitable for this type of work? Absolutely!

Would you describe him/her as an honest, reliable individual? Yes, I would.

Would you trust this person with your own children, home and pets? Yes, I would.

Please describe how you know this person:

Jamie was introduced to us by a family friend who mentioned that she was looking for extra pocket money. Twice this year we went overseas for work. We asked her to housesit for us and look after our four dogs.

Jamie was very upfront with us confirming she was studying at university and shared her class timetable with us stating when she would and would not be at the house during the days, which I really appreciated. Our dogs are also on chronic medication and all the medication was correctly dispensed and our pets were in good health when we took them to the vet for their check-ups upon our return.

She seemed to be good with our dogs and when we came back from vacation, all the dogs were alive! But more importantly, they were jumping on her and were very excited to see her, so it was comforting to see that they liked her.

Please confirm that you are not an immediate family member, romantic partner or close friend of the above person. Confirmed!

Additional notes:

Jamie sent photos of the dogs every few days by WhatsApp, which was a really nice touch. I highly recommend Jamie as a person of integrity and reliability and, most importantly, a person who is kind to animals.


StudentCo Client Reviews

Please note that not all pet parents complete our feedback questionnaire - for a full list of any sitter's experience, please do feel free to ask.

Visits with Onyx (Labrador) and Callisto (Pitbull)

My name: Stacey Hulley

Name of pet sitter: Jamie H

My pets (breeds and names): Onyx (Labrador) and Callisto (Pitbull)

Service used: Visits

My pet sitter was well-presented and well-spoken during the meet-and-greet - I immediately felt comfortable: Absolutely!

While I was away, my pet sitter kept in daily contact. I knew what was going on at my home, and how my pets were doing: Yup - I got detailed daily updates as well as pictures

Upon my return, my pets were happy and well cared for: Absolutely!

Upon my return, my home was presented to me in a clean and respectable state: Yup!

My particular instructions were followed to a T: Absolutely!

I would recommend StudentCo to friends and family: Yes, absolutely!

I was satisfied with my dealings with the admin team: No, I was not

If 1 is terrible and 5 is excellent, please rate your overall experience with StudentCo and this sitter: 5

Additional Comments:

Jamie is phenomenal in every way, my dogs have genuinely never been happier with any other sitter.

Callisto never went into her shell as she usually does and the girls were spoilt and loved like her own dogs at home.

Admin is usually so "on  the ball" but this time I was disappointed, I never recieved an email regarding a meeting with my potential sitter and I was charged petrol even though Jamie was currently staying in Allans Nek (4kms from my house) even though she notified the admin of that. I don't like to make a fuss so I didn't but I think you guys run a wonderful service that I will recommend to anyone but I would hate for a new client to receive a service not up to your usual standards. I also realise this must be the most insane time of year but I did want to bring it to your attention.

Note from StudentCo: We apologise for the errror made with the fuel charge - Stacey's account was credited to correct this error.

Meet-and-greet info was sent via Whatsapp using our new system, but unfortunately not noticed by Stacey.

We apologise for any inconvenience and thank Stacey for her feedback - honest feedback helps us improve :).

Date of Review: 12/18/2018 10:35:02 AM

Stay-overs with Atticus and Spartacus (cats)

My name: Sarah-Jane Lowes

Name of pet sitter: Jamie H

My pets (breeds and names): Atticus and Spartacus (cats)

Service used: Stay-overs

My pet sitter was well-presented and well-spoken during the meet-and-greet - I immediately felt comfortable: Absolutely!

While I was away, my pet sitter kept in daily contact. I knew what was going on at my home, and how my pets were doing: Yup - I got detailed daily updates as well as pictures

Upon my return, my pets were happy and well cared for: Absolutely!

Upon my return, my home was presented to me in a clean and respectable state: Yup!

My particular instructions were followed to a T: Absolutely!

I would recommend StudentCo to friends and family: Yes, absolutely!

I was satisfied with my dealings with the admin team: Yes, absolutely

If 1 is terrible and 5 is excellent, please rate your overall experience with StudentCo and this sitter: 5

Additional Comments:

Jamie did an excellent job and the cats were very well groomed and very happy when we got home.

Date of Review: 1/1/2019 9:02:59 PM