StudentCo Pet Sitter Profile

Name of sitter: Simone M

Area: Boschkop, Pretoria East

Note: Simone happily looks after pets who are not in her immediate area - driving is not a problem.

I am currently: A Farm Administrator (stay on and manage the day to day processes)

Approved StudentCo pet sitter since: December 2019


Experience with animals and own pets

Since I was young, I have had a passion for animals. I grew up on a plot where my parents had many cattle and horses. I started riding horses at the age of 4 and it is since then that I have always loved animals and the outdoors. My experience with horse riding went from basic schooling to competing for my Provincial colours for endurance riding as well as becoming a horse riding instructor at the age of 16. I have a very independent and dedicated personally and at the age of 16 I wanted to start earning my own income and thus I also studied through UNISA in order to have the opportunity to work while I study. At the moment I have 3 horses of my own and see them as my own children, I do not ride as often anymore but I will never let them go.

My husband and I also own 4 lovely dogs; a Jack Russel, a German Shorthaired Pointer, a Golden Retriever and a Labrador. We love our dogs very much and all 4 our dogs sleep with us in our room and in winter even on the bed. They get treated as part of the family and they are very precious to us.

My husband and I also own a small-scale farm where we are currently farming with sheep and chickens. I am very hands on with the sheep and the chicken. It is a joy for us to wake up early and head over to the kraals.

Our friends and family very often use us as their personal “pet sitters” where on weekends we have the honour of having extra house guests, our home is always open to other pet friends. I have a degree in Consumer Science, however I am planning on studying a second degree- Animal Health. I have decided that it would be a great advantage for me to have this degree with regards to our small-scale farm and I would love to carry out my passion for animals with it.

I not only have experience with domestic animals but wildlife animals as well. My husband and I seldom volunteer at a game farm in Thabazimbi where we have worked with Buffalo, Rhino and Sables. My ultimate dream would be to become a Wildlife Vet. I love going on trips to anywhere where wildlife is involved. Our honeymoon was camping in Botswana.

I would love to look after your wonderful pets as well and continue to live out my passion for animals.


Feedback from References


Reference 1

Being part of StudentCo means working with animals. In your opinion, would the above person be suitable for this type of work? Absolutely!

Would you describe him/her as an honest, reliable individual? Yes, I would.

Would you trust this person with your own children, home and pets? Yes, I would.

Please describe how you know this person:

We are involved in business together

Please confirm that you are not an immediate family member, romantic partner or close friend of the above person. Confirmed!

Additional notes: Simone is an honest and very reliable person. Friendly, and has a deep love for animals and I have no doubt she will do her work diligence.


StudentCo Client Reviews

Please note that not all pet parents complete our feedback questionnaire - for a full list of any sitter's experience, please do feel free to ask.